Lots of catching up to do….

IMG_1440

Where do I start with class updates and beyond? Well, it is important to note that my wife and I became parents to our beautiful daughter on April 27. She is wonderful in every way. I am truly excited to start the journey of parenthood. It’s funny how I’ve heard how much a child changes ones perspective on life. I haven’t been able to explore my creativity much since she was born but I’m convinced that my creative vision and approach has been changed for the better.

Students in Anatomy and Figure Drawing are exploring the process of transposing figurative sculptures onto a 2D surface. This project presents itself at the point in the year where students are truly seeing the figure as a 3D form, capturing life-like shapes through precisely placed marks. Amidst this project students are also working on an extended pose of our always reliable class mannequins. The group is still feeling inspired by a day off campus to visit artist’s studios in Lawrence as well as the Essex Art Center galleries. Below is a picture of the class at Liz Peck’s studio. 12974549_10206108523659446_377459020789316800_n

Mrs. Peck graciously gave her time and energy to this very fortunate group. Here is more about our visit in Mrs. Peck’s words taken from her Facebook post:

“Today, I was honored to have Andrew Dexter, a teacher from North Reading H.S. visit with his Anatomy and Figure art class. They came to see a working art studio and talk to me about a career choices, and experiences in the art world.

I talked to them about my academic journey and practical training. I showed them examples of my own figurative work, and compared them with pieces that I have by Robert Liberace, Michael Dunaway, Jeffry Watts, Dan Thomson and Mark Hayden. For those interested in abstract work, I referred them to Nella Lush.

I tried to pass along tips about tools and techniques that I learned along the way. And I recommended a number of books for further study I have found to be especially helpful. I promised to pass along contact information, for some of my friends in the art world, from whom they can ask further advice.

I pointed them to the Saturday morning workshops with Mark Hayden, Mimi Johnson, and Joan Rademacher, sponsored by the Greater Haverhill Art Association. I also introduced them to fellow artist at the Island Street Studios, Lynne Mehlman, who was kind enough to show and talk a bit about her work at her studio. I hope they had a productive and enjoyable experience. I know I did.”

In Drawing and Painting, students are exploring Chinese and Japanese brush painting. Using basic, time tested materials, students are currently learning how to properly paint bamboo compositions. Shortly, they will resume work on “reminiscent” paintings which must reference (in some way) their master work copies.

Foundations of Art has taken a brief break from the 10x scaled models of everyday objects to work on much smaller 2D scratch boards. Students were asked to research a god or goddess of their choosing and transpose a high value photograph of the god or goddess onto scratch board surface. They learned about the basic and more advanced mark making techniques and the final products should show a strong variety of marks and subtle changes in value.

I promise to keep the updates fast and furious from here on in. Make sure to subscribe to this blog by adding your email address in the widget on the right. Also, visit the NRHS Main Street area for constantly changing student art.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lots of catching up to do….

  1. Robyn Forman says:

    Hi there –

    Congratulations on the birth of your baby daughter! We couldn’t be happier for you as you embark on this life-changing journey. It’s the toughest job you’ll ever love, and it all goes by SO quickly, so treasure each day.

    Eric & Robyn Forman

    On Tue, May 10, 2016 at 5:11 PM, Art With Mr. Dexter wrote:

    > andrewdexter posted: ” Where do I start with class updates and beyond? > Well, it is important to note that my wife and I became parents to our > beautiful daughter on April 27. She is wonderful in every way. I am truly > excited to start the journey of parenthood. It’s funny how I” >

    Like

  2. Joan Crotty says:

    Congrats on your baby girl!! Precious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

